“The Best of Modest Mouse (Designed for Vinyl)”

I did one of these posts for Wilco, too, and truthfully, they both probably stand no chance of creation on account of label restraints. But the mission statement is clear on both: showcase the band’s best material on clear, analog sound, and pare things down to a $20 piece of merchandise that can be stuffed really awkwardly into a Christmas stocking. (Actually, my Wilco list popped out of my head last year around the holiday season, which I guess isn’t important but lends itself at least to some false zodiac blogging integrity, perhaps.)


Side A:

1 “Dashboard” (4:06)

2 “Float on” (3:28)

3 “Perfect Disguise” (2:32)

4 “Jesus Christ Was an Only Child” (2:36)

5 ” Ocean Breathes Salty” (3:44)

6 “You’re the Good Things” (3:33)

Side B:

1 “Tiny Cities Made of Ashes” (3:14)

2 “A Different City” (2:54)

3 “Cowboy Dan” (6:14)

4 “Trailer Trash” (5:49)

5 “Gravity Rides Everything” (4:19)



<script async src=“https://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js?client=ca-pub-5127494401132808”



<!– Google Tag Manager –>


new Date().getTime(),event:’gtm.js’});var f=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],




<!– End Google Tag Manager –>

<!– Google Tag Manager (noscript) –>

<noscript><iframe src=“https://www.googletagmanager.com/ns.html?id=GTM-5KV22KW”

height=“0” width=“0” style=“display:none;visibility:hidden”></iframe></noscript>

<!– End Google Tag Manager (noscript) –>